On Saturday, my family went to a town Mayday celebration. We parked in the empty lot of a small, neighborhood grocery--a place where my husband stops at least once and often twice a day. The parking lot has posted signs, "30 minute parking for shoppers only", so I dutifully went in the store and bought a coffee and a bottle of water. We then walked to the start of a 2.3 mile "fun run". Before the race started, my husband decided to return to the car and put away his sweatshirt. When he got there, the security guard told him he had to move the car; the lot was for shoppers only. They got in a big argument in the lot about it. At the end of the altercation, my husband called the security guard "a butthead". The security guard, in outrage, went across the street to get the sheriff. My husband got in the car and drove off, stopping at the sheriff to say "I called him a butthead". The sheriff responded "do you want to spend a night in jail?" My husband responded "on what charge?" and drove off to park 30 feet away in an adjacent lot. He's been fuming ever since, raising the subject every 4-5 hours.
So last night, I was reviewing my daughter's homework. There was a question, "why do people call each other names?" Lauren had written, "because they want to make people do what they want". I said, I thought it was because people needed to feel more powerful and that inside, they were feeling insecure. At this point, my husband yelled, "they call people names because they are angry and frustrated". I said that everyone gets angry and frustrated but not everyone calls people names. At which point my husband yelled, "YOU ARE CLUELESS! You must have missed that class in medical school!" and stormed out of the room. I guess he was angry and frustrated. Or was he insecure?
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment